Skip to content

Greenland and the Faroe islands

Greenland and the Faroe Islands have been part of Denmark since the 14th century.

When talking about Denmark we normally refer to Jutland, Zealand, Funen, Bornholm and the remaining islands scattered around Danish waters.

However, the Faroe Islands in the North Atlantic and Greenland, which is part of the North American continent, also belong to Denmark.

Culturally and linguistically speaking the northern and southern parts of the kingdom are very different.